When You Hate The One You Love

When you hate the one you love

The person who ruined you

But their job was to protect you

They denied their issues

And now you are the one dealing

With the issues they passed onto you

What happens when you hate the one you love?

You are riddled with immense guilt

The shame stays with you like a dark rain cloud

Does the love ever outgrow the hate

Or does the love once held turn to hatred

The kind that destroys all happy memories

When the person you have grown to hate

Taught you to cry into your pillow

The pillow that suffocated screams for help

When they showed you the worst of themselves

Yet expected love to grow

Instead, it made me angry and resentful

Do these feeling ever change?

I miss you more each day

Yet the relief of your absence grows stronger

Who would I be if you were here today?

Would I be who I am now?

Would I even be here on this earth?

Suffocation of contradicting feelings

Am I right or wrong?

When you hate the one you love

Leave a comment